Best Button Makers for Pins, Badges and Craft Fair Sales (2026)
The best button maker machines of 2026: made-in-USA steel presses from American Button Machines and Tecre, an electric press for volume, and budget kits.

Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.
For selling buttons, a made-in-USA steel press from American Button Machines or Tecre is what we would buy. American Button Machines says every button maker it sells carries a lifetime warranty against defects, and both makers build presses in sizes from about 1 inch to 6 inches. Both sell direct rather than on Amazon.
On Amazon, the Caydo BM Pro is an electric press with three sizes, built for batches, and the VEVOR 3-in-1 is the low-cost way to try three sizes, sold by Amazon itself. Whatever you buy, the parts (shells, pin backs and clear Mylar) must match the machine's size and standard, and your artwork must be cut larger than the button.
Picks are based on the makers' own pages for American Button Machines and Tecre, and on the Amazon listings for the others (labelled).
Our top picks at a glance
1. Best overall
American Button Machines button makerSizes: 1 to 6 in (one size per press) · Build: All steel, made in USA · Operation: Manual · Warranty: Lifetime against defects
2. Best for the widest size range
Tecre button makerSizes: 7/8 to 6 in · Build: Made in USA · Operation: Manual or electric · Warranty: Ask Tecre
3. Best electric press on Amazon
Caydo BM Pro Electric Button Maker (1, 1.25, 2.25 in)Sizes: 1, 1.25 and 2.25 in · Build: Metal · Operation: Electric, two presses per button · Warranty: 1 year (per the listing)
4. Best budget multi-size
VEVOR 3-in-1 Button Maker (1, 1.25, 2.25 in)Sizes: 1, 1.25 and 2.25 in · Build: ABS body · Operation: Manual lever · Warranty: Not stated in the listing
5. Best for 3 inch buttons
VEVOR 75 mm (3 in) Metal Button MakerSizes: 75 mm (3 in) · Build: Steel and aluminum alloy · Operation: Manual lever · Warranty: Not stated in the listing
6. Best for occasional buttons
Happizza 58 mm (2.25 in) Button MakerSizes: 58 mm (2.25 in) · Build: Engineering plastic · Operation: Manual lever, swivel mount · Warranty: Replacement or refund for defects (per the listing)
| Pick | Sizes | Build | Operation | Warranty | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Button Machines button makerBest overall | 1 to 6 in (one size per press) | All steel, made in USA | Manual | Lifetime against defects | American Button Machines |
| Tecre button makerBest for the widest size range | 7/8 to 6 in | Made in USA | Manual or electric | Ask Tecre | Tecre |
| Caydo BM Pro Electric Button Maker (1, 1.25, 2.25 in)Best electric press on Amazon | 1, 1.25 and 2.25 in | Metal | Electric, two presses per button | 1 year (per the listing) | Amazon |
| VEVOR 3-in-1 Button Maker (1, 1.25, 2.25 in)Best budget multi-size | 1, 1.25 and 2.25 in | ABS body | Manual lever | Not stated in the listing | Amazon |
| VEVOR 75 mm (3 in) Metal Button MakerBest for 3 inch buttons | 75 mm (3 in) | Steel and aluminum alloy | Manual lever | Not stated in the listing | Amazon |
| Happizza 58 mm (2.25 in) Button MakerBest for occasional buttons | 58 mm (2.25 in) | Engineering plastic | Manual lever, swivel mount | Replacement or refund for defects (per the listing) | Amazon |
Best overall
American Button Machines button maker
All-steel presses made in the USA with a lifetime warranty, from a maker that also sells the matching parts and punches.
- Sizes
- 1 to 6 in (one size per press)
- Build
- All steel, made in USA
- Operation
- Manual
- Warranty
- Lifetime against defects
Pros
- Every button maker it sells carries a lifetime warranty against defects, per the company
- All pinback button makers and supplies made in the USA, per the company
- Publishes the industry-standard cut sizes and sells matching graphic punches
Cons
- Sold direct, not on Amazon (this link earns us nothing)
- Each press makes one size, so several sizes means several presses
- Costs more than the import kits
American Button Machines builds all-steel presses in sizes from 1 inch to 6 inches and says every pinback button maker and supply it sells is made in the USA, with a lifetime warranty against defects on every button maker. It sells complete kits by use (school, library, photo, campaign, professional) and the graphic punches cut to the industry-standard sizes in the chart below.
For a seller, the warranty and the steady supply of matching parts are the point: a button business runs on shells, backs and Mylar, and a press that keeps crimping cleanly for years. Many sellers start with a 2.25 inch press, the middle of the size range and roomy enough for most pin designs, and add sizes as orders call for them.
Best for the widest size range
Tecre button maker
Wisconsin-made presses from 7/8 inch to 6 inches, including electric models and die-cutting presses.
- Sizes
- 7/8 to 6 in
- Build
- Made in USA
- Operation
- Manual or electric
- Warranty
- Ask Tecre
Pros
- Sizes from 7/8 inch to 6 inches, including 3 inch BAM, per Tecre
- Made in the USA, in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
- Offers an electric button maker as well as manual presses
Cons
- Tecre's site does not list prices or warranty terms; call or email for a quote
- Sold direct, not on Amazon
- More choice means more to decide before ordering
Tecre is the other long-standing US button press maker. Its site lists button sizes from 7/8 inch to 6 inches (including 3 inch BAM, a Badge-A-Minit size), button making kits, graphic punches, die-cutting presses and an electric button maker, all made in the USA in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.
Tecre does not publish prices or warranty terms online, so you will need to call (800) 394-9168 or email for a quote. It is the better fit if you need an unusual size or want an electric press from a US maker.
Best electric press on Amazon
Caydo BM Pro Electric Button Maker (1, 1.25, 2.25 in)
A motorized press with three sizes and a counter, for sellers making hundreds of buttons at a time.
- Sizes
- 1, 1.25 and 2.25 in
- Build
- Metal
- Operation
- Electric, two presses per button
- Warranty
- 1 year (per the listing)
Pros
- Motorized pressing replaces the hand lever, which saves wrists on long runs
- Up to 165 buttons an hour with a built-in counter, per the listing
- Three interchangeable molds and 100 parts sets per size in the kit
Cons
- Sold by Caydo's store; parts tolerance claims come from the listing
- Still two presses per button: front, then the pin back
- Needs a power outlet at a craft fair
Pulling a lever a few hundred times in an afternoon is hard on hands and wrists, which is the case for an electric press. The Caydo BM Pro listing describes a motorized constant-pressure press with 1, 1.25 and 2.25 inch molds, production of up to 165 buttons an hour, a digital counter, a 3 mm safety gap to keep fingers clear, and a kit with 300 parts sets, a circle cutter and a power adapter.
Each button still takes two presses: one picks up and compresses the shell, artwork and Mylar, and the second crimps on the pin back after you rotate the base. Buy matching Caydo refills, since the listing says they are made to the machine's tolerances.
Best budget multi-size
VEVOR 3-in-1 Button Maker (1, 1.25, 2.25 in)
Three sizes on one manual press with 300 parts sets, sold by Amazon itself.
- Sizes
- 1, 1.25 and 2.25 in
- Build
- ABS body
- Operation
- Manual lever
- Warranty
- Not stated in the listing
Pros
- Makes 25, 32 and 58 mm buttons, magnets, mirrors, keychains and bottle openers, per the listing
- Kit includes metal and plastic backs, covers, Mylar and blank papers for each size, plus a circle cutter
- Sold by Amazon itself
Cons
- High-strength ABS body rather than all steel
- No warranty term stated
- Not built for all-day production
For someone testing whether buttons sell, a three-size kit is a sensible start. VEVOR's listing describes 25, 32 and 58 mm (1, 1.25 and 2.25 inch) dies on one press, alignment scales on the dies, an ergonomic arc handle, and a kit with metal and plastic backs, covers, film and blank papers for every size, a circle cutter and wrenches. It is sold by Amazon itself.
The body is high-strength ABS plastic, not steel, so treat it as a starter. If buttons take off, a steel press is the long-term tool.
Best for 3 inch buttons
VEVOR 75 mm (3 in) Metal Button Maker
A steel and aluminum 75 mm press for large statement buttons, sold by Amazon itself.
- Sizes
- 75 mm (3 in)
- Build
- Steel and aluminum alloy
- Operation
- Manual lever
- Warranty
- Not stated in the listing
Pros
- Steel and aluminum alloy construction, per the listing
- Kit includes 100 parts, a circle cutter and blank papers
- Sold by Amazon itself
Cons
- One size only
- Heavier, at about 16 lb (per the listing)
- No warranty term stated
Three inch buttons suit campaign pins, event badges and band merchandise where the design needs room. VEVOR's 75 mm press is built from steel and aluminum alloy, per the listing, and comes with 100 sets of parts, blank papers, film and a circle cutter. Remember the cut size: a 3 inch button needs artwork cut to 3.451 inches, per American Button Machines' chart.
Best for occasional buttons
Happizza 58 mm (2.25 in) Button Maker
A low-cost single-size 2.25 inch press for gifts, classrooms and the odd batch.
- Sizes
- 58 mm (2.25 in)
- Build
- Engineering plastic
- Operation
- Manual lever, swivel mount
- Warranty
- Replacement or refund for defects (per the listing)
Pros
- Installation-free with a swivel mount for positioning, per the listing
- Kit includes 100 parts, a 58 mm circle cutter and printed pictures
- The lowest price here
Cons
- Plastic body
- One size
- Sold by Happizza's store, not Amazon itself
If you need buttons for a school event or a handful of gifts, a single-size plastic press is enough. Happizza's third-generation 58 mm (2.25 inch) press is installation-free, with a swivel mount, 100 parts, a circle cutter and printed pictures in the box, and the listing promises a free replacement or refund for quality problems.
How we chose
A button press has two jobs: crimp a metal shell, your artwork and a clear Mylar cover together, then attach a pin back, cleanly and every time. We compared presses on the sizes they make, build (steel, aluminum or plastic), manual or electric operation, the parts included, and warranty, using American Button Machines' and Tecre's own sites and the Amazon listings.
Cut your artwork larger than the button
The most common beginner mistake is cutting artwork to the button's face size. The paper has to wrap around the edge of the shell, so it must be larger. American Button Machines publishes the industry-standard cut sizes for round buttons:
| Button size | Cut size |
|---|---|
| 1 in | 1.313 in |
| 1.25 in | 1.629 in |
| 1.5 in | 1.837 in |
| 1.75 in | 2.088 in |
| 2.25 in | 2.625 in |
| 2.25 in (photo paper) | 2.225 in |
| 3 in | 3.451 in |
| 3.5 in | 4.00 in |
A graphic punch or adjustable circle cutter set to these sizes saves time and waste. If your cut circle or Mylar does not match a size on the chart, American Button Machines says your machine is not an industry-standard size, and you will need parts made for it.
What to look for
Size, and whether parts are standard
2.25 inch suits most pin designs, with 1 and 1.25 inch for small pins and 3 inch for statement buttons. Buy shells, backs and Mylar that match your machine's size and standard; some brands, such as Badge-A-Minit, sell their own sizes (Tecre lists a separate 3 inch BAM size).
Steel or plastic
Steel presses from American Button Machines and Tecre are built for years of crimping. Plastic-bodied import presses work for occasional use but are the first to wear or flex under heavy production.
Manual or electric
A manual press needs a firm pull per crimp, two crimps per button. For hundreds of buttons a week, an electric press like the Caydo BM Pro or Tecre's electric model saves time and strain.
One size or interchangeable dies
Multi-size kits let you offer several sizes from one press, but each size change means swapping dies. Single-size steel presses are faster in production. Many sellers buy one steel press in their best-selling size and a second for another size.
Supplies you will keep buying
- Metal shells and pin backs (or magnet, mirror and keychain backs) for each size
- Clear Mylar covers
- Paper and a printer for artwork, and a graphic punch or circle cutter
Buttons sell well alongside other small-run products; see our HTV, DTF and screen printing comparison for shirts and the heat press guide if you plan to add apparel.
Frequently asked questions
What size button maker should I buy?
A 2.25 inch press is a practical first choice: it sits in the middle of the size range and fits most pin designs. Add 1 or 1.25 inch for small pins and 3 inch for statement buttons once you know what sells.
What size should I cut artwork for a 2.25 inch button?
2.625 inches, per American Button Machines' industry-standard chart. The extra paper wraps around the shell's edge. For heavier photo paper on a 2.25 inch button, the chart gives 2.225 inches.
Are cheap button makers worth it?
For occasional use, yes. Plastic-bodied kits make good buttons in small numbers. For selling at volume, a steel press with a long warranty, such as American Button Machines' lifetime warranty against defects, holds up better.
Can I use any brand of button parts in my machine?
Only parts made to the same size and standard. Industry-standard parts fit industry-standard machines; some brands, like Badge-A-Minit, use their own sizes, so buy parts made for your press.
Is an electric button maker worth it?
For long production runs, it saves time and hand strain, since every button takes two crimps. The Caydo BM Pro listing claims up to 165 buttons an hour. For occasional batches, a manual press is enough.
Sources
- American Button Machines, American Button Machines
- What Size Button Maker Do I Have?, American Button Machines
- Tecre Button Maker Machines, Tecre
Cover image: Illustration: CraftsCall (AI-generated)
Related guides
Best Screen Printing Presses for a Home Shirt Shop (2026)
Four presses and a starter kit for screen printing shirts at home, what colors and stations mean, and how to cure plastisol properly.
Best Vinyl Cutters for Making Shirts with HTV (2026)
Five cutters for HTV shirts compared on cut width, matless length, software and connectivity, from a compact Joy Xtra to a 24 inch roll cutter.
HTV vs DTF vs Screen Printing: Which Shirt Method Fits Your Orders
Three ways to decorate shirts, compared on what designs they handle, which order sizes they suit, and what each takes to set up.


